Scottsdale Public Library logo
Questions? Call us: 480-312-7323   My Account

Knowing & Growing

Every Child Ready to Read


Knowing and Growing is a series of programs for families that support the growth and development of young children. Programs are designed to relay information and develop new skills that support early learning through playful interactions with your child. You’ll be Knowing & Growing together!




Books Can ©

(ages 0-3 / limit 15 children / 45 min / six-week series)

Books Can…© is a unique program based on Arizona's Infant & Toddler Guidelines and Arizona's Early Learning Standards that uses popular picture books, rhymes, songs and interactive activities to promote children's social and emotional development.

Registrants are expected to attend all six weeks.


Upcoming programs
Wednesday, January 24, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Friday, January 26, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, January 31, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Friday, February 02, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, February 07, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Friday, February 09, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Friday, February 16, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, February 21, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Friday, February 23, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Thursday, April 05, 2018 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Thursday, April 12, 2018 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Thursday, April 19, 2018 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Tuesday, April 24, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Thursday, April 26, 2018 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Tuesday, May 01, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Thursday, May 03, 2018 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Tuesday, May 08, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Thursday, May 10, 2018 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Tuesday, May 15, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site

See our upcoming Books Can…© programs



Fun With Math and Science

(ages 3-5 / limit 18 children / 45-60 min / six-week series)

Explore math and science concepts in an interactive, playful way! Based on the Arizona Early Learning standards for math and science, this six-week course will explore concepts and introduce strategies to use with your child to help build and strengthen their mathematical and scientific thinking skills.

Registrants are expected to attend all six weeks.


Upcoming programs
Thursday, February 01, 2018 at 2:00 PM Civic Center Library
Thursday, February 08, 2018 at 2:00 PM Civic Center Library
Thursday, February 15, 2018 at 2:00 PM Civic Center Library
Thursday, February 22, 2018 at 2:00 PM Civic Center Library
Thursday, March 01, 2018 at 2:00 PM Civic Center Library
Monday, March 05, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Thursday, March 08, 2018 at 2:00 PM Civic Center Library
Monday, March 12, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Monday, March 19, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, March 21, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Monday, March 26, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, March 28, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Monday, April 02, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, April 04, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Monday, April 09, 2018 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Wednesday, April 18, 2018 at 10:00 AM Off-Site

See our upcoming Fun With Math and Science programs



Stay and Play

(ages 0-5 / limit 20 children / 90 min / six-week series)

This six-week series of play-based learning is for children up to 5 years old and their parents/caregivers. Each session will feature local resource professionals who address a variety of early childhood topics.

Please see a staff person prior to the start of the program to pick up a ticket which will be your child.s registration.


Upcoming programs
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 at 10:30 AM Mustang Library
Friday, January 26, 2018 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library
Tuesday, January 30, 2018 at 10:30 AM Mustang Library
Friday, February 02, 2018 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library
Tuesday, February 06, 2018 at 10:30 AM Mustang Library
Friday, February 09, 2018 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 at 10:30 AM Mustang Library
Friday, February 16, 2018 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library
Friday, February 23, 2018 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library

See our upcoming Stay and Play programs



Knowing & Growing Program Locations

Appaloosa Library
7377 E. Silverstone Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
  480-312-7051

Arabian Library
10215 E. McDowell Mountain Ranch Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
  480-312-7051

Civic Center Library
3839 N. Drinkwater Blvd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
  480-312-7051

Mustang Library
10101 N. 90th Street
Scottsdale, AZ 85258
  480-312-7051

Palomino Library
12575 E. Via Linda
Scottsdale, AZ 85259
  480-312-7051

Vista del Camino
7700 E. Roosevelt St.
Scottsdale, AZ 85257
  480-312-2323


This project was supported with funds granted by the Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records Agency under the Library Services Technology Act, which is administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.


  City of Scottsdale   Website Policies   Accessibility Services   sitemap   Español