Scottsdale Public Library logo
Questions? Call us: 480-312-7323   My Account

Knowing & Growing

Every Child Ready to Read


Knowing and Growing is a series of programs for families that support the growth and development of young children. Programs are designed to relay information and develop new skills that support early learning through playful interactions with your child. You’ll be Knowing & Growing together!




Books Can ©

(ages 0-3 / limit 15 children / 45 min / six-week series)

Books Can…© is a unique program based on Arizona's Infant & Toddler Guidelines and Arizona's Early Learning Standards that uses popular picture books, rhymes, songs and interactive activities to promote children's social and emotional development.

Registrants are expected to attend all six weeks.


Upcoming programs
Wednesday, December 07, 2016 at 5:30 PM Palomino Library
Friday, December 09, 2016 at 10:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, December 14, 2016 at 5:30 PM Palomino Library
Friday, January 13, 2017 at 10:30 AM Mustang Library
Friday, January 20, 2017 at 10:30 AM Mustang Library
Friday, January 27, 2017 at 10:30 AM Mustang Library
Friday, February 03, 2017 at 10:30 AM Mustang Library
Tuesday, February 07, 2017 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Friday, February 10, 2017 at 10:30 AM Mustang Library
Tuesday, February 14, 2017 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Friday, February 17, 2017 at 10:30 AM Mustang Library
Tuesday, February 21, 2017 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Tuesday, February 28, 2017 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Tuesday, March 07, 2017 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library
Tuesday, March 14, 2017 at 10:30 AM Appaloosa Library

See our upcoming Books Can…© programs



Fun With Math and Science

(ages 3-5 / limit 18 children / 45-60 min / six-week series)

Explore math and science concepts in an interactive, playful way! Based on the Arizona Early Learning standards for math and science, this six-week course will explore concepts and introduce strategies to use with your child to help build and strengthen their mathematical and scientific thinking skills.

Registrants are expected to attend all six weeks.


Upcoming programs
Wednesday, December 07, 2016 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Monday, December 12, 2016 at 2:00 PM Civic Center Library
Wednesday, December 14, 2016 at 10:00 AM Off-Site
Wednesday, January 25, 2017 at 9:30 AM Palomino Library
Monday, January 30, 2017 at 9:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, February 01, 2017 at 9:30 AM Palomino Library
Monday, February 06, 2017 at 9:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, February 08, 2017 at 9:30 AM Palomino Library
Monday, February 13, 2017 at 9:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, February 15, 2017 at 9:30 AM Palomino Library
Wednesday, February 22, 2017 at 9:30 AM Palomino Library
Monday, February 27, 2017 at 9:30 AM Arabian Library
Wednesday, March 01, 2017 at 9:30 AM Palomino Library
Monday, March 06, 2017 at 9:30 AM Arabian Library
Monday, March 13, 2017 at 9:30 AM Arabian Library

See our upcoming Fun With Math and Science programs



Stay and Play

(ages 0-5 / limit 20 children / 90 min / six-week series)

This six-week series of play-based learning is for children up to 5 years old and their parents/caregivers. Each session will feature local resource professionals who address a variety of early childhood topics.

Please see a staff person prior to the start of the program to pick up a ticket which will be your child.s registration.


Upcoming programs
Friday, January 20, 2017 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library
Friday, January 27, 2017 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library
Friday, February 03, 2017 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library
Friday, February 10, 2017 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library
Friday, February 17, 2017 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library
Friday, February 24, 2017 at 10:30 AM Civic Center Library

See our upcoming Stay and Play programs



Knowing & Growing Program Locations

Appaloosa Library
7377 E. Silverstone Drive
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
  480-312-7051

Arabian Library
10215 E. McDowell Mountain Ranch Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85255
  480-312-7051

Civic Center Library
3839 N. Drinkwater Blvd.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
  480-312-7051

Mustang Library
10101 N. 90th Street
Scottsdale, AZ 85258
  480-312-7051

Palomino Library
12575 E. Via Linda
Scottsdale, AZ 85259
  480-312-7051

Vista del Camino
7700 E. Roosevelt St.
Scottsdale, AZ 85257
  480-312-2323


This project was supported with funds granted by the Arizona State Library, Archives and Public Records Agency under the Library Services Technology Act, which is administered by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.


  City of Scottsdale   Website Policies   Accessibility Services   sitemap   Español